Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee Minutes October 8, 2014

9 a.m.

President's Conference Room, Tigert 226

Present: Barbara Wingo, Sue Alvers, Nicholas Gravenstein, Ikramuddin Aukhil, Eric Potsdam, James Seale, Raymond Issa, Amy Simonne, William Castleman, Juan Nino, Richard Segal, Jeffrey Harrison, and Sabine Grunwald

Rich Segal called the meeting to order at 9 a.m. and the minutes from October 2013 were approved.

New Faculty Ombudsman

Ken Gerhardt

• Ken Gerhardt is the new ombudsman and he gave the committee some background information about himself and that he is still in the process of opening his office.

Orientation

Barbara Wingo gave a short orientation about the AFTPRS Committee. Basically, the Committee hears certain grievances for out of unit faculty which includes the Health Center, IFAS and Law School. The Faculty Union handles grievances for the in-unit faculty. She explained that examples of the types of grievances that will come before this committee are firings and tenure denials. We haven't had a grievance in a couple years. Sometimes the chair of the committee helps resolve the issue.

Barbara is the committee's legal advisor. Her role is to give advice on procedural matters, not advice on the law. Once the faculty members files charges, the committee chair appoints a three member Inquiry Panel who investigates the validity of the charges and evaluates the evidence presented. The Inquiry Panel issues a report to the chair either to recommend a formal hearing or deny a formal hearing. If the Inquiry Panel recommends a formal hearing, then the case will move to the three member Hearing Panel which holds an administrative hearing. A recommended order from the Hearing Panel will then be sent to the President who makes the final decision.

Election of Chair

Raymond Issa was elected chair for 2015-2016.

Meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.